© Auld Haa 2019

Click on gallery to enlarge images


We think 'Auld Haa' is quite special but dont just take our word for it.  These are some of the guest reviews we have had since opening the property for holiday lettings in 2017...
 

"Just to let you know that I've arrived at Auld Haa and it is utterly wonderful - the house is perfect, it's beautifully presented, immaculately clean and the views are stunning . The internet is working as well! Thank you for everything and all the thoughtful treats too. I'm going to have a wonderful holiday here - and I may never move out! " (A.S. July 2017)


 

"This is just to say thank you again for such an amazing, peaceful and luxurious stay last week! The house is beautiful and immaculately done. As I said before it is my dream house. Every bit of it works wonderfully: the conservatory is perfect, the kitchen and bathroom luxurious. I actually took photos of your kitchen as it gave me so many good ideas for my own. And I had to force myself to get out of the shower! You’ve thought of every detail: from the lovely bed linen to the conservatory furniture, to the welly boots in the utility room, to the printer,  to the post it notes and pens and easel and tripod for when inspiration strikes. I have never stayed in such a thoughtfully well equipped house. The walks from the house are some of the best in Yell: I saw terns, oyster catchers and red throated divers along the shore, and lots of seals – and otters: one just at the bottom of the garden. In short – it was perfect ........ and  even though I want to keep the house to myself I think others deserve to know how wonderful it is".

('A' 29/07/2017)


 

Reviews added August 2018....
 

"Just a short message to let you know we enjoyed our stay at your lovely cottage very much. Everything we needed was there, Jakoba did a great job. And what a great idea to add the sunny extension to the house.  Some extras we got from that were the otters we saw at the shore in front of your house and a sheepdog training!

Thanks again, we loved Yell ! Hope we'll be back someday".

('S&E' 06/08/2018)


 

Reviews added July 2019....
 

We had a most enjoyable stay at the Auld Haa. The house is beautifully situated and the equipment is very good.  The patio is a wonderful place to sit and watch the skyline, the gannets diving into the sea, the sheepdog training,... we couldn't get enough of it.  Thanks also for the gifts, we enjoyed that.

The walk around the peninsula is beautiful and a common seal was following us, but we didn't see any otters.

We also met Jacoba and we could chat in Dutch.

So with regret we had to leave the Auld Haa, but we stay still another week in the environment of Sandwick.

Kind regards

Els & Hugo

(via email 17/09/19)

We're having a lovely time at Auld Haa.

We had a quick visit from Jakoba not long after we arrived, checking everything was ok, we were really impressed by that, also by the quality of her cleaning, the house was spotless!

 

It's a fine place to be and we won't want to leave on Saturday to start our journey home. Really well equipped and thanks for the welcome items too, very much appreciated.

Best wishes

Nick

(via email 26/06/19)

Holiday 1st-22nd June 2019

Our stay at Auld Haa is coming to an end, we will be very sad and emotional on Saturday.  We have enjoyed our holiday albeit it wetter & colder than we have had in previous visits.  We love your home here, it is so comfortable.  Jakoba keeps it so clean & welcoming, she was here very promptly when there was a problem with the boiler. She even personally delivered a Father's Day card to my husband from his son.  Your new viewing room has been a real sanctuary on days when wind & rain has kept us in.  We have enjoyed walks & quiet moments on the shore line where we have seen mother otter with 3 cubs, mother otter with 2 cubs & a lone otter.

Thank you for allowing us this precious time on Yell.

With best wishes,

Brenda & Peter

(via email 20/06/19)

Hi Clare...we had a wonderful wild, windy two weeks in Auld Haa. Shetland is a fantastic place to be when the weather is so stormy. Storm Ali really was quite spectacular.  On the worst morning about 06:20 a male otter charged across the front of the house heading up the hill.  It looked as though it wasn't enjoying the gales and was heading for a more sheltered position.

My Spanish friends loved their first visit to Shetland.

We all enjoyed staying in the cottage very much.  It is a lovely holiday home and we hope to return next year.

Best wishes

Sandra.

(via email 05/10/18)